The July 2011 revision of the Air Force reading list

(source) General Ronald Fogleman created the CSAF Professional Reading Program in 1996 to develop a common frame of reference among Air Force members -- officers, enlisted, and civilians -- to help each of us become better, more effective advocates of air and space power. Each CSAF since then has enhanced and continued the Professional Reading Program.

Other revisions

February 2024

June 2018

June 2017

May 2016

January 2015

February 2014

October 2013

June 2012

May 2010

January 2009

November 2008

June 2007

This revision

Military Heritage

Book cover for Cataclysm: General Hap Arnold and the Defeat of Japan

Book cover for Fighter Pilot: The Memoirs of Legendary Ace Robin Olds

Book cover for Red Eagles: America's Secret MiGs

Book cover for The All Americans


Book cover for Partners in Command: George Marshall and Dwight Eisenhower in War and Peace

Book cover for Secrets of Special Ops Leadership: Dare the Impossible -- Achieve the Extraordinary

Book cover for The Lost Peace: Leadership in a Time of Horror and Hope, 1945-1953

Book cover for Three Cups of Tea

Strategic Context

Book cover for A Savage War of Peace: Algeria 1954-1962

Book cover for Cyber War: The Next Threat to National Security and What to Do About It

Book cover for Descent into Chaos: The United States and the Failure of Nation Building in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Central Asia

Book cover for Monsoon: The Indian Ocean and the Future of American Power

Book cover for Technology Horizons: A Vision for Air Force Science and Technology 2010-30

Book cover for The Return of History and the End of Dreams